Interesting historical ensembles and cultural property.
Let's find out after which bird the city got its name and why the rain is circling Kragujevac.
Today, Kragujevac is the fourth largest city in Serbia. It originated on the river Lepenica bank, where there was a habitat of the bird kraguj (raptors), after which the town got its name. We will follow its history and important events chronologically by visiting cultural monuments during a city tour with our tourist guide.. We are slowly introducing you to its significance and development during the turbulent times when the country of Serbia was maturing. We will follow the ups and downs of Kragujevac from the period of the industrialization of the city and the country of Serbia to the present day. Today, it houses the Fiat Factory plant on the site of the once big Yugoslav auto industry and the Zastava factory. Kragujevac has Lake Bubanj and its beach on Lake Šumarice. The first Aquarium in Serbia is located in Kragujevac. We visit “Milošev venac”, Prince’s arsenal, and Old foundry.
“Milošev venac” covers the central part of the city from the period 1818-1841 when Kragujevac was the capital of Serbia in the time of Prince Miloš Obrenović. In this place were created the first Government institutions of modern Serbia. We will see Amidža’s Residence built-in 1818. Today, it is the only preserved building from the Palace complex. It is part of the National Museum. We sightsee the Old (Court’s) church from 1818. It is dedicated to the descent of the Holy Spirit on the apostles. It was built as the first metropolitan church of liberated Serbia, where important decisions were made, such as the first Serbian Constitution- the "Sretenje Constitution" from 1835. Next to the church is the The Old Assembly building/Parliament from 1859. In 1878, the Treaty of Berlin was read in it, which brought independence to Serbia. We visit the Residence of Prince Mihailo from 1860 and one of the most monumental buildings in old Serbia - the Gymnasium building from 1887. Further, they line up the Theater building (1928) and the City Market building (1929) - one of the first closed markets in Europe.
Prince’s arsenal - Old Foundry
Prince's Arsenal or Topolivnica is a unique military-industrial complex in Serbia and Europe. An architectural ensemble consisting of factory buildings and workshops from the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century. The Foundry was created in 1851 from the old Miloš's arsenal and became the largest industrial company in Serbia in the 19th century. The first electric light bulb in Serbia shone at this place in 1884. In the same year, the first electric machine started working. Due to the proximity of the city center, its authenticity becomes a city brand. The entire military-technical complex is under the protection of the state. Over time, it became attractive to the music and film industries. A TV series about the construction of the ship "Titanic" was filmed at this place. We will visit the museum "Stara Livnica" and an exhibition of weapons, tools, and equipment produced in the Kragujevac weapons factory.
Šumarice - Memorial Park
Kragujevački Oktobar In Kragujevac's Sumarice Park, there is a Memorial Park - Kragujevac October. It is dedicated to the innocent victims (about 3,000 Kragujevac citizens) who were shot by German soldiers on October 21, 1941. The park covers 352 ha, with 30 mass graves, among which 10 mounds are works of art. The most famous monument is dedicated to the executed students and teachers of the Kragujevac primary school. In the memorial park, there is a Museum "21st October“. In the park are one of the largest military cemeteries from the First World and Balkan Wars and the "Slovak Cemetery" on the site where Slovak and Czech soldiers were shot as members of the Austro-Hungarian army after the uprising.
Sacral buildings in Kragujevac
In addition to the Old (Court’s) church in Kragujevac, the faithful are also gathered by the Cathedral church. It is dedicated to the Dormition of the Mother of God. It was built in the Russian-Byzantine style and is one of the most beautiful sacral buildings from the second half of the 19th century. It is the seat of the Eparchy of Šumadija of the Serbian Orthodox Church. We also emphasize the Temple of Saint Sava in Kragujevac. It is dedicated to the people of Kragujevac, who were shot in October 1941.
On a full-day tour of Kragujevac and its surroundings, we recommend a visit to Gruža Lake and the monasteries Drača and Divostin. For those who like pilgrimage trips, they should visit the monasteries on the southern slopes of the Rudnik mountain: Petkovica monastery, Voljavča monastery, and Blagoveštenje monastery (Rudnik). Not far from Kragujevac, there are other valuable monasteries and cultural monuments - monasteries Lipar, Denkovac, Raletinac, Sarinac …
Departure time at 10.00 am.
Duration of the walking tour 2-3 hours.
Meeting place with a tour guide at the reception of your hotel or indicated address.
The price depends on the number of people. The price includes the services of a tourist guide and transfers.
Optional: The full-day tour includes a transfer to the Drača monastery and Lake Knić.
Tour Operator Licence 362/2020 Belgrade, Serbia
+381 60 572 02 55
+381 64 130 05 25
+381 64 567 73 40
Viber / WhatsApp
Rada Neimara 23. Belgrade1000 Serbia