Experience the beauty and spiritual peace of Belgrade
There is almost no part of our city where there are no Orthodox churches.
In this tour, we will visit some of the most important ones.
The Ružica Church is the oldest church in Belgrade, dedicated to Saint Mary and is located on the Belgrade Fortress. Based on its content and appearance, it is ranked among the ten most interesting in the world. It is assumed that the church was located on the same place, under the Zindan Gate and in the 15th century as part of the monastery complex, during the reign of Despot Stefan Lazarević.
The original church was destroyed during the Ottoman conquest (1521) and the new one was built in its place immediately after the liberation (1867). According to the documents, only a few days after the liberation, a commission for the reconstruction of Ruzica was formed and the new church was built in just nine months, it was consecrated and worship services continued. For a time, in the 18th century, it served as a gunpowder warehouse, then as a result of a fire it was destroyed in the 19th century and became a military church, where military priests of the Belgrade garrison and navy served. It was placed under state protection in 1965, preserves the tradition of a military temple, and on the holiday of February the 15th, it serves as a memorial to all Serbian officers and soldiers killed in the wars of 1878-1918, when the names of 3,000 missing fighters are read.
Church of St. Petka
The Church of St. Petka on the Belgrade Fortress was built on the place of a miraculous spring, in the immediate vicinity of the Ružica Church. It was built at the beginning of the 15th century, when the relics of St. Petka were brought to Belgrade. After the Ottoman conquest in 1521, the relics were taken to Constantinople, where they remained until the middle of the 17th century, when the Moldavian ruler transferred them to the city of Iasi. The Church of St. Petka managed to preserve a part of the relics.
Cathedral of the Holy Archangel Michael
The Cathedral Church in Belgrade is one of the largest built in the Principality of Serbia. Many important events and spiritual enlightenments in Serbian history are related to the formation and development of the Cathedral. It, like many other churches, monasteries and temples, was built, demolished and rebuilt. The existence of this temple preserves the centuries-old history and Orthodox Christian tradition of our city. In 1882, King Milan Obrenović was anointed on the royal throne here, and in 1904, King Petar I Karađorđević was crowned. After the renewal of the Serbian Patriarchate, the enthronement of Patriarch Dimitrije was organized in the church. The tombs of Prince Miloš and Prince Mihailo Obrenović, part of the relics of Tsar Uroš and Saint Stevan Štiljanović, and the graves of several Serbian patriarchs and metropolitans are in the Cathedral. In front of the main entrance, two very important personalities of Serbian culture were buried - Dositej Obradović and Vuk Stefanović Karadžić.
Alexander Nevsky Church
The Church of Alexander Nevsky was built after the liberation of Serbia for Russian soldiers who took part in the fighting in the Serbian-Turkish war. The temple is named after a great Russian saint, so that Russian volunteers - liberators would have their own temple. It changed its location in Belgrade. It was consecrated in 1912, while construction continued until 1930. The church is a fresco painted in the Serbian Byzantine style.
Church of St. Mark
According to the project, the church of St. Mark was built between 1931-1940. The architectural, monumental style of the church was built in the spirit of Serbian medieval architecture, following the example of the Gračanica monastery from the 13th century and is an excellent example of how old spiritual patterns in the form of new building materials can fit into the urban environment without losing any of their simplicity and beauty. There is a sarcophagus with the relics of Serbian Tsar Dušan Nemanjić in the temple.
Church of the Holy Trinity
the temple of the Russian Orthodox Church
The establishment of the Russian Church in Orthodox Belgrade corresponds to the needs of the believing Russian people, who fled after the October Revolution. With the financial help of the Russian emigration in Belgrade and the ruler of Serbia, in the Tašmajdan Park, right next to the Church of St. Mark, the Church of the Holy Trinity was built in the style and tradition of Psovsko-Novgorodski contruction. The temple was consecrated in 1934 and became known throughout Russian emigration in the world as the center of church life of the Russian Orthodox Church. All Serbian patriarchs worshiped in this church. In the temple is the grave of Lieutenant General, Commander-in-Chief of the Russian Imperial Army, Baron Peter Nikolayevich Wrangel.
Temple of Saint Sava
The temple of Saint Sava is located on the Vračar plateau and is one of the largest Orthodox sanctuaries in the world. The absolute height of the temple is 134.5 meters, with an area of 3650 square meters and has the shape of a Greek cross with domes on top. In the underground part there is a crypt, a large hall, a treasury with the church of the great martyr Saint Prince Lazar. The temple of Saint Sava occupies a dominant part in the silhouette of the city of Belgrade and is visible from all access roads to our city.
The Belgrade monastery Vavedenje on Senjak is an important spiritual center of Belgrade. It was consecrated in 1936 by the Serbian Patriarch Varnava - one of the most important in Serbia. Vavedenje monastery is among the first centers of renewal of female monasticism in Serbia. Icons and relics of saints from various periods in the history of Orthodoxy are kept in the treasury.
The monastery of the Holy Archangel Michael in Rakovica is also known among the people as the monastery of the Obrenović dynasty. It was most probably founded in the 13th century, during the reign of King Dragutin and King Milutin, while it is assumed that it was renovated in the 14th century during the reign of Prince Lazar. The original monastery was moved from its place, but it was also located as it is today, in the area of the Belgrade settlement of Rakovica. According to the legend, the icons themselves were transferred from the old to the new church. The monastics of the monastery received great help from the Russian Tsar Peter I during the successful mediation in the negotiations between the Russians and the Ottomans. In the gate of the monastery, there is a family tomb of Jevrem Obrenović, Serbian patriarchs Pavle and Dimitrije, then hajduk Vasa Čarapić. The relics of Saint Nectarios and Saint Bishop Nikolaj Velimirović are kept in the treasury of the monastery.
The tour of Orthodox churches begins at 8:00 AM. Planned return is around 17.00.
Our tourist guide is with you at the reception of your hotel or at your address.
The price of the trip depends on the number of people. The price includes guide services and transfer.
Tour Operator Licence 069/2022
Rada Neimara 23.